• Parasports World

Last Week: Parasports Round-Up

Marcel Hug and Tatyana McFadden picked up maximum Series XI points in the Chicago Marathon on Sunday, 8th October 2017. In the women’s wheelchair race, five-time Paralympian McFadden got an unbelievable seventh successive win at the Chicago Marathon with a time of 1:39:15, breaking her own course record of 1:41:10. McFadden, who has seven Paralympic gold medals, as well as a silver, is the only racer to win all four world major marathons in a single year. She accomplished that feat four times in a row from 2013-16.The win is also a bounce back for McFadden, who finished fourth at this year’s Boston Marathon following surgery for blood clots in February.

Amanda McGrory finished just behind McFadden for second place. Together, she and McFadden have won every Chicago Marathon since 2007. Schär had raced at world record pace in an attempt to break the US star but McFadden simply slipstreamed the small leading pack before turning on the afterburners to cross the line in 1:39:15. Schär came in third, two seconds slower than McGrory. McFadden’s 25 winners’ points moves her into third on the leaderboard. Schär still tops the table on 59 with McGrory second on 32.

Out racing his biggest competitor, Kurt Fearnley, who he narrowly beat in 2016 in a stunning photo finish, Hug won this year’s wheelchair race by a much larger margin. Hug faced fierce competition but managed break away from the group of several elite wheelchair athletes, finishing with an official time of 1:29:23.

And because we all need motivation on a Monday.

Photo credits: Bank of America Chicago Marathon

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Parasports World provides parasports and paralympic sports news, entertainment and community to a global audience interested in sports. Our vision is to redefine the way that parasport is reported: It’s great sports by great athletes. Our mission is to bundle worldwide parasports enthusiasts by delivering content that they love to see and engage with; from the Paralympic Games, the Invictus Games and other inspiring parasport events and championships.

Sports. Story. Glory.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • PSW-contact

© 2021 powered by SPIN Sport Innovation.